Utility to Remove old Records

For all of your future version needs.

Moderator: davidyin

Post Reply
User avatar
tyman00
Members
Members
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Mandan, ND
Contact:

Utility to Remove old Records

Post by tyman00 »

Our database is getting pretty large. Is there a way we could write a script that would go and check to see if that record is being used anymore. It would have to check to see if the record is currently being displayed by default.asp or if it will be used for a future event.

Would this create an issue with your reports? We don't use them, but I don't want to you to create a utility that would break the reports either.

User avatar
davidyin
Members
Members
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:50 pm
Location: Burnaby

Post by davidyin »

The tool to backup and compact your database file.
Save the attachement into your main folder.
Run it.

The backup up file will be saved in your dbs folder and the database file will be compacted.

You need the NTFS write permission and FSO support.
Attachments
database-tool.rar
(804 Bytes) Downloaded 362 times

User avatar
davidyin
Members
Members
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:50 pm
Location: Burnaby

Post by davidyin »

The file size has no limit basicly.
The tool I provided is to used to compact it and backup it.
I think the efficiency of program will be better if you compact your database.

Anyway, I will make a better database tool in the next version.

User avatar
tyman00
Members
Members
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Mandan, ND
Contact:

Post by tyman00 »

I do use the Compact and Repair command in MS Access, but it is still up there. We have 50 people that are constantly using this board. It adds up quickly.

User avatar
davidyin
Members
Members
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:50 pm
Location: Burnaby

Post by davidyin »

How big about the database file?
Do you fell the speed slow when open the page?

User avatar
tyman00
Members
Members
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:59 pm
Location: Mandan, ND
Contact:

Post by tyman00 »

No I don't. But I am looking into the future. Especially since we are probalby going to increase our employee numbers in the near future so we will have even more records.

I suppose I could go and manually delete some of the records and hope I don't break anything :wink: That's what backup's are for :lol:

AnthonyLopez
Members
Members
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:15 pm

Re: Utility to Remove old Records

Post by AnthonyLopez »

tyman00 wrote:
Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:57 am
Our database is getting pretty large. Is there a way we could write a script that would go and check to see if that record is being used anymore. It would have to check to see if the record is currently being displayed by default.asp or if it will be used for a future event.

Would this create an issue with your reports? We don't use them, but I don't want to you to create a utility that would break the reports either.


I do utilize the Compact and Repair charge in MS Access, yet it is still up there. We have 50 individuals that are continually utilizing this board.

Post Reply